• Inscription 2018 - Secondaire
  • Inscription 2018 - Universitaire
SEARCH


AVENIR 2012
Personality Awards-Undergraduates AVENIR






Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy

Personality Awards-Undergraduates AVENIR



Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy
Université Laval

“Unexpected and enriching.” This is how Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy, a medical student at Université Laval, describes her career path. And considering what she has accomplished so far, there is no doubt whatsoever that the student has made surprising headway over the past few years. After obtaining a Master’s degree in linguistics, she started her career at the helm of a small translation company. But an unfortunate family event put on her path an altruistic family physician, an encounter that was to change the course of her life to such an extent that she began turning over in her mind the possibility of completely reorienting her career.

After mulling it over for a year, Èvelyne decided to go back to college at the age of 28 in order to complete the ten courses she needed to be admissible in medicine. It was quite a change for a woman who was more accustomed to playing with words. “I’d never taken any health science courses and my brain was much more geared towards the humanities,” she admits.

Despite everything, she brilliantly completed this milestone. Then, in her very first year of medical studies, she joined the family medicine interest group at her university in order to promote this discipline, shunned by students who by far prefer specialized medicine.

Aware of this unpopularity, she decided, with the help of a friend, to create a student symposium on family medicine, the first of its kind in Canada. They met with a great deal of reluctance on the part of the faculty when they first presented their project, but their perseverance and the quality of their organization plan eventually gained them the upper hand.

“From the very start, I was impressed by Èvelyne’s dynamism. She showed us the remarkable leadership of which she was capable for organizing such an event, which proved to be an unprecedented success with over 500 participants,” says Jacques Ricard, director of medical and university affairs and professional partnerships at the Agence de la santé et des services sociaux de la Montérégie.

Again with the goal of promoting family medicine, Èvelyne also created a web magazine entitled Première ligne, which seeks to demystify and advocate her field of studies. She succeeded in obtaining the collaboration of students from four Québec medical faculties and publishing four issues per year, while making sure that she put in place a structure that would guarantee the sustainability of the project.

“Èvelyne managed once again to convince several people from different bodies. She showed them the rationale for her initiative and succeeded in arousing their enthusiasm,” points out Gilles Lortie, the outgoing director of the department of family medicine and emergency medicine at Université Laval.

At the same time as her studies and all her projects, Èvelyne still finds the time to practice sports and occasionally accepts translation contracts. She believes that a balanced life is the proper combination of various activities. She cherishes her social commitment and has every intention of continuing on the same path after she graduates.

“Not being socially committed is like going to your courses but never doing homework and never studying. It’s depriving oneself of all the benefits and wealth of a great learning opportunity,” she asserts.



Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy



Evelyne Bourdua-Roy


RESSOURCES

VIDEOS

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


Look at the videos gallery

VALORISER L'ENGAGEMENT ÉTUDIANT POUR FAVORISER L'ENRICHISSEMENT DU SAVOIR
Home / University Program / Finalists / Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy /
Sherweb_logo O2 web logo David Leclerc

• Gala Forces-Avenir - niveau Universitaire
  • Gala Forces-Avenir - niveau Universitaire
RECHERCHE

Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy

AVENIR Personnalité 1er cycle



Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy
Université Laval

« Inusité et enrichissant. » Voilà comment Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy, étudiante en médecine à l’Université Laval, décrit son parcours. Et à consulter sa feuille de route, nul doute que la jeune femme a cheminé de façon surprenante au cours des dernières années. Forte d’une maîtrise en linguistique, elle a tout d’abord amorcé sa carrière à la tête d’une petite entreprise de traduction. Puis un événement familial malheureux a mis sur son chemin une médecin de famille altruiste qui a changé le cours de sa vie au point de faire mijoter dans son esprit une réorientation complète de carrière.

Après un an de réflexion, Èvelyne choisit donc de retourner au cégep à 28 ans afin d’obtenir les 10 cours qui lui manquent pour être admise en médecine. Tout un changement pour la femme plutôt habituée à jouer avec les mots. « Je n’avais jamais fait de sciences de la santé et j’avais un cerveau très “sciences humaines” », souligne-t-elle.

Elle réussit malgré tout avec brio cette étape. Puis, dès sa première année en médecine, elle se joint au groupe d’intérêt en médecine familiale de son université afin de promouvoir cette discipline boudée par les étudiants, qui lui préfèrent de beaucoup la médecine spécialisée.

Consciente de cette impopularité, elle décide avec un ami de créer un symposium étudiant sur la médecine familiale, le premier du genre au pays. Ils rencontrent beaucoup de réticence de la part de la faculté lorsqu’ils présentent leur projet, mais leur persévérance et la qualité de leur plan d’organisation finissent par convaincre.

« Dès le début, j’ai été impressionné par le dynamisme d’Èvelyne. Elle nous a démontré tout le leadership dont elle était capable dans l’organisation d’un tel événement, qui a été une réussite sans précédent avec plus de 500 participants », fait remarquer Jacques Ricard, directeur des affaires médicales, universitaires et des partenariats professionnels à l’Agence de la santé et des services sociaux de la Montérégie.

Cherchant toujours à valoriser la médecine familiale, Èvelyne a aussi créé une revue Web, nommée Première ligne, qui vise à démystifier et à promouvoir son domaine d’études. Elle a réussi à réunir autour d’elle des étudiants des quatre facultés de médecine québécoises et à produire quatre numéros par année, tout en s’assurant de mettre en place une structure garantissant la pérennité du projet.

« Èvelyne a su encore une fois convaincre plusieurs personnes de différentes instances. Elle leur a montré le bien-fondé de cette initiative et a su soulever leur enthousiasme », indique Gilles Lortie, directeur sortant du Département de médecine familiale et de médecine d’urgence de l’Université Laval.

Parallèlement à ses études et à tous ses projets, la jeune femme trouve le temps de faire du sport et d’accepter à l’occasion des contrats de traduction. Elle considère qu’une vie équilibrée est un bon mélange de plusieurs activités. Son engagement social, elle y tient, et compte bien le poursuivre après ses études.

« Ne pas être engagé socialement, c’est comme aller à ses cours, mais ne jamais faire ni devoir ni étude. C’est se priver du plein potentiel et de toute la richesse d’une grande occasion d’apprentissage », soutient-elle.



Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy



Evelyne Bourdua-Roy


RESSOURCES

VIDÉOS

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


Voir la galerie vidéos

Valoriser l’engagement étudiant pour favoriser l’émergence de nouvelles initiatives ayant une incidence sur les projets de vie des jeunes et leur entourage
Accueil / Programme universitaire / Finalistes / Èvelyne Bourdua-Roy /
Sherweb_logo O2 web logo David Leclerc