University
SEARCH

Award recipients
GALA FORCES AVENIR
2012


AVENIR 2012
Personality Awards-Undergraduates AVENIR






Adam Hart

Personality Awards-Undergraduates AVENIR



Adam Hart
McGill University

Inventive, curious, blessed with an enterprising drive and always on the lookout for new ideas where he could put his talents to good use, Adam Hart, a medical student at McGill University, saw this discipline as the best way of combining his manual and technical skills with his desire to be involved in society. Motivated by a need to understand how everything around him works, he pursued engineering studies that briefly fulfilled his thirst for knowledge; today, thanks to his medical training, he dreams of inventing a revolutionary orthopaedic device.

“The ability to think outside the box, to constantly search for new ideas that prompt us to push back our limits while at the same time inspiring others to do likewise, this is how I believe progress is made,” Adam spontaneously asserts.

Adam Hart has always had this enterprising drive. When he was just a teenager, he founded his own vending machine design and manufacturing company in the basement at his parent’s house. He even hired some of his classmates to lend a hand in the development of the company called Vending Innovation Products. Six years later he sold it, just before undertaking a Master’s degree in electrical engineering at the University of Toronto.

A model student who has always maintained a more than respectable grade point average, Adam also sets himself apart through his research findings. In the course of his Master’s degree at the University of Toronto, his work addressed an area of microelectronics, namely the human-machine interface, which was published in four journals and presented at three international forums. During this same period, he also contributed to the design of a software program that today is widely used among McGill University graduates.

“Medicine then gradually became a given on my academic path as a means of fulfilling my varied fields of interest. I wanted to be able to apply my skills to a project with a tangible impact,” Adam explains.

Almost at the same moment as he began pursuing his medical studies, he started working on the design for a wireless respiratory monitor in collaboration with the Global Centre for eHealth Innovation in Toronto. Three years later, the instrument was launched and installed at hospitals. The Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society published his work on the monitor and Adam also presented it at a convention in Buenos Aires in 2010.

Universally praised by his collaborators, who commend his immense dynamism, modesty, strong self-discipline and commitment, Adam transposes all these qualities as a member of the McGill University rowing team, where he has helped his teammates win numerous awards. And as vice-president of the fund-raising campaign for his team, he contributed to making it an unprecedented success by helping to raise a record amount of $40,000.

“As a future orthopaedic surgeon, I believe that everything is within my reach. I will be able to realize my dreams while allowing biomedical research to benefit from my various fields of interest and my experience,” he says in conclusion.



Adam Hart



Adam Hart


RESSOURCES

VIDEOS

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


Look at the videos gallery

VALORISER L'ENGAGEMENT ÉTUDIANT POUR FAVORISER L'ENRICHISSEMENT DU SAVOIR
Home / University Program / Finalists / Adam Hart /
Web developpement:  O2 Web Solutions | Graphic conception: David Leclerc

• Gala Forces-Avenir - niveau Universitaire
  • Gala Forces-Avenir - niveau Universitaire
RECHERCHE

Lauréate
GALA FORCES AVENIR
2012


AVENIR 2012
AVENIR Personnalité 1er cycle






Adam Hart

AVENIR Personnalité 1er cycle



Adam Hart
Université McGill

Inventif, curieux, doté du désir d’entreprendre et constamment à l’affût de nouvelles idées pour mettre ses talents à contribution, Adam Hart, étudiant en médecine à l’Université McGill, a trouvé dans cette discipline la meilleure façon de conjuguer ses aptitudes manuelles et techniques avec son besoin de s’engager dans la société. Motivé à comprendre le fonctionnement de tout ce qui l’entoure, il a fait des études en ingénierie qui ont momentanément satisfait sa soif de savoir; aujourd’hui, grâce à ses études de médecine, il rêve d’inventer un dispositif orthopédique révolutionnaire.

« La capacité à penser en dehors de l’ordre établi, à poursuivre la quête de nouvelles idées qui nous amènent à nous dépasser tout en inspirant d’autres personnes à le faire également, voilà comment je crois que le progrès prend forme », lance spontanément Adam.

Ce désir d’entreprendre, Adam Hart l’a toujours eu. Dès l’adolescence, il a fondé, dans le sous-sol de la maison de ses parents, son entreprise de conception et de fabrication de machines distributrices. Il a même embauché des copains de classe pour l’assister dans le développement de cette compagnie baptisée Vending Innovation Products. Six ans plus tard, il l’a vendue au moment où il amorçait une maîtrise en génie électrique à l’Université de Toronto.

Élève modèle conservant des résultats scolaires plus que respectables, Adam se distingue aussi par ses résultats de recherche. Dans le cadre de sa maîtrise à l’Université de Toronto, ses travaux touchant un aspect de la microélectronique, soit l’interface entre l’homme et la machine, ont été publiés dans quatre revues et présentés lors de trois congrès internationaux. Dans cette même période, il a aussi participé à la conception d’un logiciel aujourd’hui couramment utilisé par les diplômés de l’Université McGill.

« Ensuite, la médecine est venue progressivement s’imposer dans mon cheminement scolaire comme une façon de satisfaire mes divers champs d’intérêt. Je voulais réussir à appliquer mes compétences dans un projet aux effets tangibles », explique l’étudiant.

Presque au même moment où il amorçait ses études en médecine, il a commencé, en collaboration avec le Global Centre for eHealth Innovation de Toronto, la conception d’un moniteur respiratoire sans fil. Trois ans plus tard, l’instrument voyait le jour et était intégré en milieu hospitalier. Ses travaux sur le moniteur ont été publiés par l’Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society et il en a fait la présentation lors d’un congrès en 2010, à Buenos Aires.

Obtenant invariablement les éloges de ses collaborateurs, qui applaudissent son grand dynamisme, son humilité, sa forte discipline et son engagement, Adam transpose ces mêmes qualités au sein de l’équipe d’aviron de l’Université McGill, où il a aidé ses coéquipiers à remporter de nombreuses distinctions. Et à titre de vice-président de la campagne de financement de son équipe, il a connu un succès sans précédent en contribuant à amasser la somme record de 40 000 $.

« À titre de futur chirurgien orthopédique, je crois que tout est à ma portée. Je pourrai réaliser mes rêves en faisant bénéficier la recherche biomédicale de mes divers champs d’intérêt et expériences », dit-il en terminant.



Adam Hart



Adam Hart


RESSOURCES

VIDÉOS

Get the Flash Player to see this player.


Voir la galerie vidéos

Valoriser l’engagement étudiant pour favoriser l’émergence de nouvelles initiatives ayant une incidence sur les projets de vie des jeunes et leur entourage
Accueil / Programme universitaire / Finalistes / Adam Hart /
Sherweb_logo O2 web logo David Leclerc